Releases & Reviews

“TULIJOUTSEN” (Svart Records)

Release Date: February 28, 2014


01. Aarnivalkea (“Phantom Lights”)
02. Verihaaksi (“The Blood Wreck”)
03. Me vaellamme yössä (“We Roam the Night”)
04. Arpeni (“My Scars”)
05. Musta (“Black”)
06. Glastonburyn lehto (“Glastonbury Grove”)
07. Tuonen tähtivyö (“Starbelt of the Netherworld”)
08. Raadot raunioilla (“The Cadavers at the Ruins”), CD digipak bonus track

Produced by V. Santura & Kuolemanlaakso

Recorded by  V. Santura at Woodshed Finland, August 13 – September 2, 2013.
Keyboards recorded by Laakso at The Owl Cave, Kuopio, Finland, except “Verihaaksi” by Kouta in Helsinki, Finland.
J.L.’s vocals recorded by Mikko Matilainen & Laakso at the Kuolemanlaakso Dungeon, Kuopio, Finland, September, 2013.

Mixed and mastered by V. Santura at Woodshed Studio, Germany, September, 2013.

All songs arranged by Kuolemanlaakso, except “Me vaellamme yössä” and Raadot raunioilla by Kuolemanlaakso & V. Santura. English translations of the lyrics by Laakso.

Guest performances by V. Santura, Kasper Mårtenson and J.L.

Front cover painting “Fire Swan” by Maahy Abdul Muhsin.

Band photography by Susanna Honkasalo.

Layout and Design by Markus Räisänen.

Art direction and concept by Markus Räisänen & Laakso.



Release Date: November 29rd, 2013

01. Me vaellamme yössä (edit) (“We Roam the Night” – edit)
02. Tulenväki (“The People of Fire”)
03. Kalmoskooppi (“Death-o-Scope”)
04. Musta aurinko nousee (“The Black Sun Rises”), Juice Leskinen cover

Produced by V. Santura & Kuolemanlaakso

Recorded by  V. Santura at Woodshed Finland, August 13 – September 2, 2013.

Mixed and mastered by V. Santura at Woodshed Studio, Germany, September, 2013.
Keyboards recorded by Laakso at The Owl Cave, Kuopio, Finland. Jess’ vocals recorded by Mikko Matilainen & Laakso at the Kuolemanlaakso Dungeon, Kuopio, Finland, September 22, 2013.

All music and lyrics written by Laakso, except “Kalmoskooppi”‘s music by Kouta, and “Musta aurinko nousee”: music & lyrics by Juice Leskinen, published by Love Kustannus. English translations of the lyrics by Laakso.

All songs arranged by Kuolemanlaakso, except “Me vaellamme yössä” by Kuolemanlaakso & V. Santura, and Musta aurinko nousee.

Guest guitar performances by V. Santura on ”Me vaellamme yössä” and ”Musta aurinko nousee”.
V. Santura appears courtesy of Century Media Records.

Artwork, layout and Design by Markus Räisänen.
Art direction and concept by Laakso & Markus Räisänen.

REVIEWS: (UK) 9/10
“Listen to this EP a few times as I have and you’ll fall in love with ‘Musta Aurinko Nousee’.”

Zephyr’ (GER) 8/10


Release Date: November 23rd, 2012

01. Minä Elän (“I Live”)
02. Kuun Lapset (“The Children Of The Moon”)
03. Nostos & Algos
04. Roihusydän (“Flare Heart”)
05. Etsin (“Searching”)
06. Ikiuni (“The Eternal Sleep”)
07. Uljas Uusi Maailma (“Brave New World”)
08. Aurinko (“The Sun”)

Produced by Kuolemanlaakso and V. Santura.

Recorded and engineered by V. Santura at Woodshed Studio, Furth, Germany, February 1–10, 2012. Vocals recorded by Kouta in Helsinki, Finland. ”Roihusydän” recorded by Laakso at The Owl Cave, Kuopio, Finland. Keyboards recorded by Laakso at The Owl Cave and Studio Perkele, Helsinki, Finland, assisted by Jack Tyger.

Mixed and mastered by V. Santura at Woodshed Studio, Furth, Germany, July 2012.

All music and lyrics written by Laakso, except “Kuun lapset” lyrics by Laakso & Eino Leino and “Aurinko” music by Laakso, Usva and Kouta. All songs arranged by Kuolemanlaakso, except ”Roihusydän” arranged and performed by Laakso. All English translations by Laakso.

Guest guitar performances by V. Santura on ”Kuun lapset”, ”Nostos & Algos”, ”Etsin”, ”Uljas uusi maailma” and ”Aurinko”.

Child’s voice on ”Kuun lapset” by Akseli Laakso.

Brave New Alpha Male Choir on ”Uljas uusi maailma” by Kouta, Jules Näveri, Sami Helle, Ville Sorvali and Aki Heikinheimo.

Concept, art direction and design by Jari Nieminen ( and Laakso.

Front cover painting ”Owlception” (2012) by Maahy Abdul Muhsin. Band portraits by Sami Jämsén (

Kuolemanlaakso logo by Laakso.

 (USA): 9,5/10
Uljas Uusi Maailma by Kuolemanlaakso is THE doom metal album of this year.” (DE) 15/15
“Hier waren wahre Meister am Werk.” (ES): 9/10
“Uljas Uusi Maailma es un genial disco.”

SorrowEternal (USA): 9/10
“This may not be the best doom album, or death album, or black album this year – there are far more straightforward ones – but it may be the best hybrid album you will find in this, or any other, calendar year.”

Inferno (FIN) 4/5
“Uljas uusi maailma on väkevä kokonaisuus, josta ei löydy heikkoja lenkkejä. Siitä löytyvät syksyn kaikki värit ja melankolian sävyt.” (FR) 9,5/10
“Superbe!” (DE)
‎”Kurz und knapp: Ein Meisterwerk, das nichts anderes als die absolute Höchstnote verdient hat!” (DE) 9/10
“Großer Sport, grandioses und episches Album.” (USA) 4,5/5
“Uljas Uusi Maailma is a true Nordic journey at heart, delivering one of the best ‘hybrid’ albums for a long time.” (USA) 
“Minä Elän is one of the best songs that I have heard all year.”

AlsoSprachJussi (FIN)
…kilpailee tosissaan Swallow the Sunin kanssa vuoden kotimaisen metallilevyn tittelistä, ja on 5 parhaan tänä vuonna julkaistun Suomi-levyn joukossa.

Keskisuomalainen (FIN) 4/5
Hitaamman tahdin ansiosta Kuolemanlaakson soitolla on aikaa tehdä tehtävänsä: verkkaisesti iskevät riffit iskevät tarkemmin, tunnelmalla on aikaa leijailla ja dynamiikkaa piisaa. (FIN) 4/5
“Loistokiekko!” (USA) 4/5
“Members of Barren Earth and Chaosweaver do what they do best – blend in just about every style of metal.” (AT) 8/10
“…zählt zu den interessantesten Genre-Releases des Jahres.”

GhostCultMag (USA): 3/5
“Tracks like opener ‘Minä Elän’ are dripping with melancholy…” (IT) 7,5/10 (DK) 4/6

SeaOfTranquillity (USA) 3/5
“Evocate melodies are juxtaposed with tribal and hypnotic rhythms, magical tones, and colossal doom riffs in this vast desert of burning suns and scorched sands.”

Lunar Caverns 8,5/10
“Not many other extreme vocalists possess such a talent.”

AbsoluteZeroMedia (USA)
“They do leave you wanting more and can you ever really ask for more then that??” (AU)
“A debut to remember.”

FromTheDustReturned (USA) 7/10
In fact, I haven’t a single complaint about the actual production of this disc: it sounds fantastic, up to any standards. (USA) 88/100
“‘Uljas uusi maailma’ is a quite unique release…” (USA) 9/10
“If you are into doom/death metal bands but you also want some sound experimentation then this album is for you.” (FIN) 6/10
“Kappaleissa ei ole vain yhtä visiota, vaan miehellä on juuri sellainen hieman Tom G. Warriorin tai Peter Steelen mieleen tuova tyyli antaa biiseille useita eri kasvoja.” (DE) 70/100 (DE) (DE) 11/15 (DE) (UK) 6,5/10
“Fusing the morbid, pounding stomp of latter-day Celtic Frost/Triptykon with doom/death and elements of atmospheric black metal is a promising cocktail.” (IT) 6,5/10 (CAN/USA) 7,5/10
“Uljas uusi maailma is pure, savage, dick-tripping metal. But it’s also, wonderfully, much more.” (USA)
“Svart Records strikes again with another curiously compelling release that defies labeling.”

Son Of Flies (IT) (DE) (BE) 7/10 (GB) 3/5
“My personal favourite on this album is ‘Ikiuni’ which see the band unleash the fury off massive brutal triple picking thrash riffing and double bass drum peddling and really is a masterpiece of what this band is capable of.”

HeavyMetal.About.Com (USA) 3/5
“With atmospheres that shimmer like a head haze, punishing yet ethereal; mountainous riffs; and tender moments that break through the heaviness only to evaporate again like mirages, Uljas Uusi Maailma has a lot going for it.”

Soundi (FIN) 3/5
“Nostos & Algosin lopun nostatus on mestarin työtä.” (IT) 6/10 (USA) 7,5/10
“Produced by Triptykon guitarist V. Santura, Uljas Uusi Maailma has a similar dense, almost too coddled sound, much like Eparistera Daimones did, albeit with much simpler songs.”

VoicesFromTheDarkside.De (DE)
“Highly recommended.”